Better decisions with IBM Decision Optimisation

Make decisions based on prescriptive analytics and achieve better business results.
Get in touch with us
What is IBM Decision Optimization?

Optimisation software with prescriptive analysis capabilities.

IBM Decision Optimisation is a family of analysis optimisation software. In IBM Decision Optimization, mathematical optimisation models are defined in an easy-to-learn language, simulated by an algorithm ("solver") given constraints, and optimal solutions are found.

Why should IBM Decision Optimization be used?

Make better and more targeted decisions.

In complex business processes, the combinatorics of possible individual parameters result in infinite possibilities of different decisions. In order to determine the optimum from the individual parameters, under given dependencies and constraints, a large number of trials and computational operations are therefore necessary. With IBM Decision Optimisation, it is easier to describe the dependencies in order to calculate the optimal solutions from them fully automatically and quickly. By having better analysis options, you can also make better decisions in favour of your company's success as a result.

We are here for you.

Expertise. Modelling. Implementation.

We have proven our knowledge of IBM Decision Optimisation (and its predecessor product "ILOG CPLEX") in numerous projects. In particular, the mathematical definition, from which the technical one is first derived, poses challenges for many companies. Our mathematicians are experts in modelling and the subsequent translation into the language of IBM Decision Optimisation.

This is where we use IBM Decision Optimisation:


The IBM Decision Optimization product family:

  • ILOG CPLEX Decision Optimisation Studio:
    An integrated development solution for defining optimisation models.

  • IBM Decision Optimisation Center:
    The complete platform for building and deploying end-to-end decision support applications.

  • CPLEX:
    This is the toolbox for the optimiser. With the help of the programming language OPL (Optimisation Programming Language), functions are linked and processes are modelled. An evaluation is carried out according to the defined KPI. Since the OPL programming language was specifically designed to map mathematical formulae, both developers and mathematicians can use it quickly and intuitively.

  • Decision Optimisation Service: 
    Which performs the actual calculation behind these and other platforms.

Central functions:

As an integral part of the IBM Data Science platform "Cloud Pak for Data" or "IBM Watson Studio", decision optimisation has been decisively expanded and embedded in the Data Science process. Now, in addition to the classic notebooks and other tools for the data scientist, functions for decision optimisation are also available in Watson Studio. On the one hand, developers are supported with an interface for classical modelling in OPL (see CPLEX), on the other hand, less technical users can quickly develop models for predetermined scenarios using a wizard.

  • Allocation of resources to tasks, locations, etc.
  • Scheduling to order tasks, activities, etc.
  • Selection of elements or combinations thereof 
  • Supply chain and demand planning

The optimisation tools are suitable for all industries and business sectors. Examples include transport, workforce planning, production planning, insurance management, etc. Further information on IBM solutions can be found here.

Sprechen Sie uns zu IBM Decision Optimization gerne an!

Marc Bastien
TIMETOACT Software & Consulting GmbHcontactpersonhelper.linkProfile.title

Bessere Entscheidungen mit IBM Decision Optimization

Treffen Sie Entscheidungen auf Basis präskriptiven Analysemöglichkeiten und erzielen Sie so bessere Geschäftsergebnisse.
Jetzt Kontakt aufnehmen
Was ist IBM Decision Optimization?

Optimierungssoftware mit präskriptiven Analysefunktionen.

IBM Decision Optimization ist eine Familie an Software zur Optimierung der Analysemöglichkeiten. In IBM Decision Optimization werden mathematische Optimierungsmodelle in einer einfach zu erlernenden Sprache definiert, durch einen Algorithmus („Solver“) bei gegebenen Rahmenbedinungen („Constraints“) simuliert und optimale Lösungen gefunden.

Warum sollte IBM Decision Optimization genutzt werden?

Treffen Sie bessere und gezieltere Entscheidungen.

In komplexen Geschäftsprozessen ergeben sich aus der Kombinatorik möglicher Einzelparameter unendliche Möglichkeiten an unterschiedlichen Entscheidungen. Um aus den Einzelparametern, unter gegebenen Abhängigkeiten und Einschränkungen das Optimum zu bestimmen, sind daher eine Vielzahl von Versuchen und Rechenoperationen notwendig. Mit IBM Decision Optimization ist es einfacher, die Abhängigkeiten zu beschreiben, um aus diesen vollautomatisch und schnell die optimalen Lösungen zu berechnen. Indem Sie bessere Analysemöglichkeiten haben, können Sie infolge dessen auch bessere Entscheidungen zugunsten Ihres Unternehmenserfolges treffen.

Wir sind für Sie da.

Expertise. Modellierung. Umsetzung.

Wir haben in zahlreichen Projekten unser Wissen rund um IBM Decision Optimization (und dem Vorgängerprodukt „ILOG CPLEX“) bewiesen. Insbesondere die mathematische Definition, aus der erst die technische abgeleitet wird, stellt viele Unternehmen vor Herausforderungen. Unsere Mathematiker sind Experten in der Modellierung und der anschließenden Übersetzung in die Sprache von IBM Decision Optimization.

Hier setzen wir IBM Decision Optimization ein:


Die Produktfamilie von IBM Decision Optimization:

Mathematische Algorithmen ermöglichen ein schnelles und effizientes Verbessern von teilweise gegenläufigen Vorgaben. Zur Produktfamilie von IBM Decision Optimization gehören u.a.:

  • ILOG CPLEX Decision Optimization Studio:
    Eine integrierte Entwicklungslösung zur Definition von Optimierungsmodellen.

  • IBM Decision Optimization Center:
    Die komplette Plattform zur Erstellung und Implementierung von Anwendungen für die durchgängige Entscheidungsunterstützung.

  • CPLEX:
    Das ist der Werkzeugkasten für den Optimierer. Mit Hilfe der Programmiersprache OPL (Optimization Programming Language) werden Funktionen miteinander in Verbindung gesetzt und Prozesse modelliert. Eine Auswertung erfolgt entsprechend der definierten KPI. Da die Programmiersprache OPL eigens zum Abbilden von mathematischen Formeln konzipiert wurden, können sowohl Entwickler als auch Mathematiker schnell und intuitiv mit ihr umgehen.

  • Decision Optimization Service: 
    Der hinter diesen und anderen Plattformen die eigentliche Berechnung durchführt.

Zentrale Funktionen:

Als integraler Bestandteil der IBM Data Science Plattform „Cloud Pak for Data“ bzw. „IBM Watson Studio” wurde die Entscheidungsoptimierung entscheidend erweitert und in den Data Science Prozess eingebettet. Nun stehen in Watson Studio neben den klassischen Notebooks und anderen Werkzeugen für den Data Scientisten auch Funktionen für die Entscheidungsoptimierung zur Verfügung. Einerseits werden Entwickler/-innen mit einer Oberfläche zur klassischen Modellierung in OPL (siehe CPLEX) unterstützt, anderseits können weniger technische Anwender für vorbestimmte Szenarien mittels eines Assistenten schnell Modelle entwickeln.

  • Zuweisung von Ressourcen zu Aufgaben, Orten, usw.
  • Zeitplanung zur Ordnung von Aufgaben, Aktivitäten usw.
  • Auswahl von Elementen oder Kombinationen daraus 
  • Planung von Supply Chain und Nachfrage

Die Optimierungstools eignen sich für alle Branchen und Unternehmenszweige. Beispiele sind Transportwesen, Personaleinsatzplanung, Produktionsplanung, Versicherungsmanagment u. ä. Weitere Information zu den IBM Lösungen finden sich hier.

Sprechen Sie uns zu IBM Decision Optimization gerne an!

Marc Bastien
Software ArchitectTIMETOACT Software & Consulting GmbHKontakt