Data Vault

The Data Integration Architecture of the Data Vault approach has robust standards and definition methods that gather information for a targeted use.

The Data Vault modeling approach

In the Data Warehouse environment there are two well-known modeling approaches based on Kimball and Inmon, which have been used for countless years when it comes to storing data. Since the emergence of these methods, the demands on technologies, concepts and best practices in the working environment have been constantly evolving. Often, larger data volumes and the required flexibility to today's systems pose major problems for these approaches. Therefore, it is questionable whether they are still appropriate for all of today's modern questions and requirements. 

This led to the Data Vault modeling approach. The hybrid approach combines all advantages of the third normal form with the star schema. Especially today, companies have to transform their business in ever shorter cycles and map these transformations in the Data Warehouse. Data Vault supports precisely these requirements without significantly increasing the complexity of the Data Warehouse over time. In contrast to Kimball and Inmon, this eliminates the ever-increasing IT costs of extensive implementation and test cycles and a long list of possible dependencies.

The Data Integration Architecture of the Data Vault approach has robust standards and definition methodologies that gather information for a targeted use. The model consists of three basic table types:

  • Hub (blue): Contains a list of unique business keys, such as customer numbers
  • Link (orange): Establishes relationships between the business keys. Links are often used to handle changes in data granularity and reduce the impact of adding a new business key to a linked hub
  • Satellite (turquoise): Contains descriptive attributes that can change over time. Where hubs and links form the structure of the data model, satellites contain temporal and descriptive attributes, including metadata that links them to their parent hub or link tables

Due to the structure and the defined standards there are many advantages of the Data Vault approach:

  • Massive reduction of development time for the implementation of business requirements
  • Earlier Return of Investment (ROI)
  • Scalable Data Warehouse
  • Traceability of all data including the source system
  • Near-Real-Time loading (besides classical batch run)
  • Big Data Processing (>Terabytes)
  • Iterative, agile development cycles with incremental expansion of the DWH
  • Few automatable ETL patterns

This technological advance is already proving to be very effective and efficient for many of our customers. We would like to build the agile Data Warehouse of the future together with you. 

The right vendor for every project

Are you looking for technical support in the areas of Analytics: Data Integration, Big Data/Data Warehouse, Business Intelligence, Data Science or Corporate Performance Management? We work with OpenSource technologies and commercial solutions of the following vendors:

Our Success Stories:

Sprechen Sie uns an!

Marc Bastien
TIMETOACT Software & Consulting GmbHKontakt

Data Vault

Die Datenintegrationsarchitektur des Data Vault Ansatzes verfügt über robuste Standards und Definitionsmethoden, die Informationen zusammenführen, um sie sinnvoll zu nutzen.

Der Data Vault Modellierungsansatz

Im Data Warehouse Umfeld gibt es zwei bekannte Modellierungsansätze nach Kimball und Inmon, die seit unzähligen Jahren verwendet werden, wenn es um die Speicherung von Daten geht. Seit der Entstehung dieser Methoden haben sich die Anforderungen an Technologien, Konzepten und Best Practices im Arbeitsumfeld stetig weiterentwickelt. Oftmals stellen größere Datenmengen und die geforderte Flexibilität an die heutigen Systeme große Probleme für diese Ansätze dar. Es ist daher fraglich, ob diese Ansätze bei allen modernen Fragestellungen und Anforderungen der heutigen Zeit noch angemessen sind. 

Aus dieser Überlegung heraus entstand der Data Vault Modellierungsansatz. Dieser hybride Ansatz vereint alle Vorteile der dritten Normalform mit dem Sternschema. Gerade in der heutigen Zeit müssen Unternehmen in immer kürzeren Zyklen ihre Geschäfte transformieren und diese Transformationen im Data Warehouse abbilden. Data Vault unterstützt genau diese Anforderungen, ohne die Komplexität des Data Warehouses im Laufe der Zeit wesentlich zu erhöhen. Anders als bei Kimball und Inmon entfallen dadurch die immer stärker wachsenden IT Kosten für die umfangreichen Implementierungs- und Testzyklen sowie eine lange Liste von möglichen Abhängigkeiten.

Die Datenintegrationsarchitektur des Data Vault Ansatzes verfügt über robuste Standards und Definitionsmethoden, die Informationen zusammenführen, um sie sinnvoll zu nutzen. Das Modell besteht aus drei grundlegenden Tabellentypen:

Datenintegrationsarchitektur des Data Vault Ansatzes
  • Hub (blau): Enthält eine Liste eindeutiger Geschäftsschlüssel, wie z. B. Kundennummern
  • Link (orange): Stellt Beziehungen zwischen den Geschäftsschlüsseln her. Links werden häufig verwendet, um Änderungen in der Datengranularität zu behandeln und die Auswirkungen des Hinzufügens eines neuen Geschäftsschlüssels zu einem verknüpften Hub zu reduzieren
  • Satellit (türkis): Enthält beschreibende Attribute, die sich im Laufe der Zeit ändern können. Wo Hubs und Links die Struktur des Datenmodells bilden, enthalten die Satelliten zeitliche und beschreibende Attribute einschließlich Metadaten, die sie mit ihrem übergeordneten Hub oder den Link-Tabellen verknüpfen. 

Auf Grund der Struktur und den definierten Standards ergeben sich viele Vorteile für den Data Vault Ansatz:

  • Massive Reduzierung von Entwicklungszeit bei der Implementierung von Business Anforderungen
  • Früherer Return of Investment (ROI)
  • Skalierbares Data Warehouse
  • Nachvollziehbarkeit aller Daten bis zum Quellsystem
  • Near-Real-Time Beladung (neben klassischem Batch Lauf)
  • Big Data Processing (>Terabytes)
  • Iterative, agile Entwicklungszyklen mit inkrementellem Ausbau des DWHs
  • Wenige, automatisierbare ETL Patterns

Dieser technologische Fortschritt erweist sich bereits jetzt schon bei vielen unserer Kunden als sehr effektiv und effizient. Gerne bauen wir mit Ihnen zusammen das agile Datewarehouse der Zukunft. 

Für jedes Projekt den richtigen Hersteller

Sie suchen technische Unterstützung in den Themen rund um Analytics: Datenintegration, Big Data/Datawarehouse, Business Intelligence, Data Science oder Corporate Performance Management? Wir arbeiten mit OpenSource Technologien und kommerziellen Lösungen folgender Hersteller:

IBM Platinum Business Partner
Microsoft Logo

Unsere Referenzen: