IBM Digital Workplace Hub with IBM Connections and XCC

brings Ernsting’s family closer together

Ernsting’s family has a history of providing affordable, high-quality fashion for families. This people centered approach on business also manifests in their appreciation for teamwork of employees, departments and locations. The powerful combination of IBM Connections and XCC – Web Content & Custom Apps Extension meets those forward-looking requirements: Their resulting ideal Digital Workplace Hub combines the market-leading Enterprise Social Software with customized applications and functional features for Content Management.

Initial situation
Our solution
Value for the customer

For the agile company Ernsting's family, the Intranet has a particularly high priority in simplifying collaboration for all employees across departments and locations. To meet the consequently high standards for their Intranet, it was necessary to create a versatile platform with features to enable and foster internal communication and collaboration alike.

The Failure of Traditional Web CMS

Ernsting’s family previous Intranet was based on the Web Content Management System (Web CMS) Typo3. Typo3, like any Web CMS, is in fact suitable for the creation and publishing of content. The scarce functions for commenting and rating content however did not fulfill the requirements for an up-to-date collaboration platform. The Intranet only enabled unidirectional communication from Internal Communications to the employee base.

By implementing the market-leading Enterprise Social Software IBM Connections, Ernsting’s family wanted to include the crucial aspect of collaboration into their company’s Intranet. In order not to confuse the employees with content redundancies and inconsistencies, the company migrated all existing content from Typo3 to IBM Connections. All content was collected in communities before the previous intranet was deactivated. In the following, the bundled information was structured within the technical boundaries. However, what the employees needed for orientation was the possibility to differentiate or highlight the company-wide relevant news, content and functions that were previously found separately in an intranet.

"With the help of XCC, we were able to create a clear user-friendly and visually appealing platform in IBM Connections for company-wide issues."

Maike SchrieverhoffResponsible for Internal CommunicationErnsting's family

Creating a Digital Workplace Hub with IBM Connections and XCC

At a conference Mr. Thorsten Rehmann, responsible for IT-Administration and licenses at Ernsting’s family, learned about TIMETOACT’s Intranet solution based on IBM Connections and XCC – Web Content Custom Apps. This offered the company exactly what they were looking for: A Digital Workplace Hub, capable of integrating functions for internal communication, collaboration and customized applications.

Maike Schrieverhoff, responsible for Internal Communicati-on  at  Ernsting’s  family,  explains  what  led  to  their  decision  for XCC: “We wanted to offer better service to our employees by  incorporating  relevant  and  up-to-date  content,  such  as  the company’s turnover, into our platform and display com-pany-wide essential news clearly visible on the Connections start  page.”  The  perfect  match  of  the  collaborative  IBM  Connections  platform  and  the  Web  Content  Management  capabilities of XCC – Web Content & Custom Apps Extension offered an excellent foundation for this purpose. 

Racing towards a Company-wide Universal Intranet

Over the course of only three weeks, Ernsting’s family and TIMETOACT developed a concept as well as a layout and navigation for the new Intranet based on IBM Connections and XCC. An ideal information architecture now enhances the collaborative environment of IBM Connections. In addition to the standard activity stream, a variety of widgets have been implemented to display relevant information to the employees. This includes content from external sources such as company sales, as well as employees’ birthdays directly updated in IBM Connections. The individual navigation directly leads users to helpful links and additionally integrates the original IBM Connections community as navigation item.

The usability of the company’s Intranet has improved signifi-cantly through combining IBM Connections with XCC. Maike Schrieverhoff is more than content with the final outcome: "With XCC, we were able to create a user-friendly, organized and visually appealing exchange platform within IBM Connections for company-wide issues.” Posted content is more visible and attracts more attention. Relevant content such as corporate sales or a calendar with on-time integration are now available. Employees can actively contribute their knowledge and collaborate to transform their Intranet into a true hub for information.

In the future, various XCC landing pages will be implemen-ted for the onboarding of new employees, in order to further reduce the entry threshold to the Intranet.

Used technologies:

About Ernsting’s family:

Ernsting’s family GmbH & Co. KG, headquartered in Coesfeld-Lette, is a German textile company speciali-zed in affordable, high-quality family fashion and accessories. Founded in 1968, the company has grown to around 12,000 employees and over 1,800 branches. Their Intranet is essential to establish a company-wide network between personnel, depart-ments and branches.

Sprechen Sie uns an!

Philipp van den Boom
TIMETOACT Software & Consulting GmbHcontactpersonhelper.linkProfile.title

IBM Digital Workplace Hub mit IBM Connections und XCC

bringt Ernsting‘s family näher zusammen

Ernsting’s family bietet Familien kostengünstige und qualitativ hochwertige Kleidung. Diese menschenorientierte Unternehmensphilosophie bestimmt auch das kollaborative Miteinander von Mitarbeitern, Abteilungen und Standorten. Die ideale Kombination von IBM Connections (mittlerweile umbenannt in HCL Connections) mit XCC – Web Content & Custom Apps Extension (mittlerweile integriert im HCL Connections Engagement Center) trifft diese zukunftsorientierten Anforderungen: Der so entstehende Digital Workplace Hub verknüpft die marktführende Enterprise Social Software mit Widgets und leistungsstarken Funktionen für Content Management.

Ausgangssituation
Lösung
Wert für den Kunden

Für das agile Unternehmen Ernsting’s family hat das Intranet einen besonders hohen Stellenwert, um Mitarbeitern die bereichs- und standortübergreifende Zusammenarbeit zu vereinfachen. Um diesen Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden, war eine vielseitige Plattform gefragt, die sowohl Interne Kommunikation als auch Kollaboration fördert.

Woran traditionelle Web CMS scheitern

Das alte Intranet der Ernsting’s family basierte auf dem Web Content Management System (Web CMS) Typo3. Wie andere klassische CMS auch eignet sich Typo3 zwar dazu, Content zu erstellen und zu veröffentlichen. Die wenigen Kommentar- und Bewertungsfunktionen des CMS erfüllen aber nicht den Anspruch an eine moderne Kollaborationsplattform und ermöglichten nur einen einseitigen Kommunikationsfluss von der Internen Kommunikation zu den Mitarbeitern.

Mit Einführung der marktführenden Enterprise Social Software IBM Connections sollte das Intranet um den für das Unternehmen essentiellen Faktor Kollaboration erweitert werden. Um die Mitarbeiter nicht durch inhaltliche Redundanzen und Inkonsistenzen zu verwirren, migrierte das Unternehmen alle bestehenden Inhalte aus Typo3 nach IBM Connections. Alle Inhalte wurden in Communities zusammengeführt und das alte Intranet abgeschaltet. In den Communities wurde der gesammelte Content innerhalb technischer Möglichkeiten strukturiert. Was den Mitarbeitern dabei jedoch zur Orientierung fehlte, war eine Abgrenzung oder Hervorhebung der unternehmensweit relevanten News, Inhalte und Funktionen, die zuvor separat in einem Intranet zu finden waren.

“Mit XCC konnten wir innerhalb von IBM Connections eine userfreundliche, übersichtliche und optisch ansprechende Austausch-Plattform für unternehmensweit relevante Themen schaffen.“

Maike SchrieverhoffVerantwortliche für Interne KommunikationErnsting's family

Mit IBM Connections und XCC einen Digital Workplace Hub schaffen

Auf einer Konferenz erfuhr Thorsten Rehmann, verantwortlich für IT-Verwaltung und Lizenzen bei Ernsting’s family, von der Intranet Lösung der TIMETOACT auf Basis von IBM Connections und XCC – Web Content & Custom Apps. Damit fand das Unternehmen genau das, wonach sie gesucht hatten: Einen Digital Workplace Hub, der Funktionen zur Kommunikation, zur Kollaboration und maßgeschneiderte Applikationen miteinander verbindet.

Maike Schrieverhoff, Verantwortliche für Interne Kommunikation bei Ernsting’s family, erklärt was zu der Entscheidung für XCC geführt hat: “Um unseren Mitarbeitern besseren Service zu bieten, wollten wir relevanten Inhalt wie z. B. unseren Umsatz tagesaktuell in der Plattform anzeigen und unternehmensweit relevante News auf der Startseite von IBM Connections unübersehbar platzieren.“ Das Zusammenspiel der kollaborativen IBM Connections Plattform und der Web Content Management Funktionen von XCC lieferte dafür eine perfekte Grundlage.

Der Weg zu einem unternehmensweiten Intranet

Innerhalb von nur einer Woche erarbeiteten Ernsting’s family und TIMETOACT sowohl ein Konzept als auch das Layout und die Navigation für das neue Intranet auf Basis von IBM Connections und XCC. Damit wird die kollaborative Umgebung von IBM Connections nun durch eine ideale Informationsarchitektur unterstützt. Zusätzlich zum üblichen Activity Stream wurden „Widgets“ eingebunden, die den Mitarbeitern unterschiedlichste Informationen anzeigen – vom Unternehmensumsatz, der über eine externe Datenquelle eingespielt wird, bis hin zu den Mitarbeitergeburtstagen, die direkt in IBM Connections gepflegt werden. Die individuell erstellte Navigation leitet die Mitarbeiter direkt zu weiterführenden Inhalten und integriert zudem die ursprüngliche Community als Navigationspunkt.

Die Usability im neuen Intranet hat sich durch den gemeinsamen Einsatz von IBM Connections und XCC stark verbessert. Maike Schrieverhoff zeigt sich mehr als zufrieden mit dem Ergebnis: „Mit XCC konnten wir innerhalb von IBM Connections eine userfreundliche, übersichtliche und optisch ansprechende Austausch-Plattform für unternehmensweit relevante Themen schaffen.“ Relevante Inhalte sind nun sichtbarer und erregen mehr Aufmerksamkeit. Widgets stellen extern Informationen, wie den Unternehmensumsatz oder einen Kalender mit On-Time Integration zur Verfügung. Mitarbeiter können ihr Wissen aktiv teilen, um ihr Intranet zu einem Knotenpunkt für Informationen zu machen.

In Zukunft sollen diverse XCC Landingpages für das Onboarding neuer Mitarbeiter implementiert werden, um die Einstiegsschwelle in das Intranet noch weiter zu senken.

Eingesetzte Technologien:

Über Ernsting’s family:

Ernsting’s family GmbH & Co. KG mit Sitz in Coesfeld-Lette ist ein deutsches Textilunternehmen, das sich auf preiswerte und qualitativ hochwertige Familienmode spezialisiert hat. In 1968 gegründet, ist das Unternehmen auf rund 12.000 Mitarbeitern und mehr als 1.800 Filialen angewachsen. Der Zweck eines Intranets besteht für Ernsting’s family darin, sich unternehmensweit zu vernetzen.